What Does The Lord’s Voice Sound Like? Boston 4, Seattle 0.

I was going to have an ordinary day today. Monday is typically a day off. You know, a day to get things done at home, and just be home. I didn’t have any real time with the Lord this morning, I was interrupted early with some I.T. work. Ended up doing some chores, then swimming with my youngest daughter Grace. I love her. At one point I was floating in the pool enjoying some rare Northwest sunshine, and a thought occurred to me,… “It was my voice, my thought,… “I haven’t been to a Mariner’s game this season, it sure would be nice to go to a game before the season is over” I thought. Usually I get at least one offer of someone’s unused tickets, or an invitation from a friend. This was a passing thought, nothing real strong, yet it was vivid. I had a longing in my heart.

About an hour later, I received a call from a friend from church,… “Hey, I was wondering if you might be interested in 4 Mariners tickets for tonight’s game?,” he asked.

I could not believe it. I was, at that moment, wondering if the Lord had heard the desire of my heart. I was wondering if He had freed up these tickets and spoken to my friend about me? It’s a humbling thought. I was incredibly excited, not just to go to the game, but I was feeling like God was truly blessing me.

I talked it over with Lori, and I decided to take the girls (taking Lori would ensure not seeing the entire game). I took Abigail, Gretchen, and A young buddy of mine.

After the hour long drive into Seattle we were really close to missing the first pitch so I settled for the first parking area that I saw. It was farther away than I would normally try to find, but I was anxious to park, and not spend time looking for something close.

After parking, paying, and all that, we set out for about a ten block walk. After about 50 yards, I found out what the whole evening was about. I ran directly into my nephew.

I have not seen him in over 10 years, I had no idea where he lived, or what he was doing with his life. He is someone that think about occasionally, and have a great affection for, but have not gotten in contact with (for reasons that I cannot go into here). I can’t describe how incredible it was to see him. We talked for a bit, he seemed as pleased to see me as I was to see him. I got his contact info. and I am hoping to reconnect with him shortly.

After the day was over with a miserable defeat to the Red Sox, I had this real electric feeling. I had thought at first, that the Lord had heard me. Then, I realized that I had heard Him. Not just a voice, but a gentle direction. He used my desire, to accomplish His desire.

What an awesome God.

Delight yourself in the LORD; And He will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4

Leave a Reply

