This Is Why

My dear friend Lincoln Miller handed this to me and walked away.

“Dear Jim, I really appreciate how you always take time to talk to me.” -Love Lincoln Miller

Ironically, I was in the middle of talking to someone else at the time and didn’t acknowledge him.

I didn’t even read it for about five minutes while it was in my hand and I was taking care of other business.

I am not writing this so that you will think I am a good guy. (Both of my readers know that I am a jerk.)

But I am reminded why we love others, why we take time to make others more important than ourselves.

I watched “Into The Storm” recently, a movie about Winston Churchill. There was a great line, as he was giving the Victorian Cross to a young soldier that had demonstrated great valor. Churchill asked him, “You feel awkward and humbled in my presence don’t you?” The young soldier responded in the affirmative. “Then you understand how I feel in your presence,” replied Churchill.

The love that we demonstrate toward others is the highest order of Christian conduct. Jesus said “that people would know that we are His disciples,” because of the evidence of selfless love.

People give me compliments regularly, I always appreciate encouragement.

I don’t think I have ever received one as meaningful and simple as Lincoln’s.

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.” –  Jesus  John 13:34

Leave a Reply

