The Decision Matrix

In the letter to the Corinthians, Paul addresses several issues that concerned Christians living in that culture.

They were questions that troubled them as they lived in a fairly evil society.

Should they “participate” with the pagan temple prostitutes?

Should they sue one another?

Should they eat meat sacrificed to idols?

We might come up with our own set of troubling questions,…

Should we watch that R rated movie?

Should we buy that Mercedes?

Should we have that beer at the local watering hole?

These, and many more questions, are ones that people of faith face regularly.

They are important because they involved people’s conscience.

In Paul’s writing, he gave us several things to ask ourselves in regard to these issues. I think his challenges could be useful as a “decision matrix” (google it).

“All things are lawful for me, but not all things are profitable. All things are lawful for me, but I will not be mastered by anything” –1 Cor 6:12 (NASB)

1. Is it profitable or “good” for me?
2. Could it “master” or control me?

“Therefore,  if food causes my brother to stumble, I will never eat meat again, so that I will not cause my brother to stumble. –1 Cor 8:13 (NASB)
3.Could it cause my brother (in Christ) to stumble or be offended?

“All things are lawful, but not all things are profitable. All things are lawful, but not all things edify. –1 Cor 10:23 (NASB)
4.Does it edify, or build up, either myself or others?

“Whether, then, you eat or drink or  whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. Give no offense either to Jews or to Greeks or to the church of God”  –1 Cor 10:31-32 (NASB)
5.Does it glorify God?
6.Could it offend people around me?

Leave a Reply

