Participation Or Sour Grapes?

“Then the men of Ephraim were summoned, and they crossed to Zaphon and said to Jephthah, “Why did you cross over to fight against the sons of Ammon without calling us to go with you? We will burn your house down on you.” Judges 12-1

These guys had previously complained after being left out of a battle by Gideon (Judges 8)…

It seems they are the “sour grapes” tribe. This led to war, as Jephthah was a little less predisposed to diplomacy than Gideon was. These guys had every opportunity to be involved in what was going on, but they chose to just complain afterward.

After we built the church, which was more than a two year endeavor with site prep and construction… I remember guys saying “yeah, I wish I had been involved, but I was busy.”
I remember thinking,… “Really? For over two years?” They missed out in a big way.

Here is my point folks… Don’t put off being an involved Christian. Be involved in what God is doing right now. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not promoting my thing, or our church. Just don’t get old and think, man, I wish I had been involved in that.

You can be involved by praying, giving, or going. Better yet, all three. Join the battle.

Leave a Reply

