The Faith Of David

    1 O LORD, do not rebuke me in Your anger, Nor chasten me in Your wrath. 2 Be gracious to me, O LORD, for I am pining away; Heal me, O LORD, for my bones are dismayed. 3 And my soul is greatly dismayed; But You, O LORD—how long? 
    4 Return, O LORD, rescue my soul; Save me because of Your lovingkindness. 5 For there is no mention of You in death; In Sheol who will give You thanks? 
    6 I am weary with my sighing; Every night I make my bed swim, I dissolve my couch with my tears. 7 My eye has wasted away with grief; It has become old because of all my adversaries. 
    8 Depart from me, all you who do iniquity, For the LORD has heard the voice of my weeping. 9 The LORD has heard my supplication, The LORD receives my prayer. 10 All my enemies will be ashamed and greatly dismayed; They shall turn back, they will suddenly be ashamed. –Psalm 6 

We do not know the exact occasion for David’s prayer. It would seem to be a time of great personal struggle with God.

Often times when we have sinned, we also can have adversaries that “pile on” so-to-speak. David was clearly pleading with God for forgiveness in verse 1, but also troubled by adversaries as he mentions in verse 7.

David asks for grace, healing, a restored relationship, and salvation from God. He is trusting in a God of grace, and a God who is able to rescue him.

David finishes this meditation with a great statement of his personal faith in God. Twice he declares, “the Lord has heard.” And, he boldly declares, “the Lord receives my prayer.”

David was just a man, what makes him such a great man, was this simple and steadfast faith in God. Though he made many mistakes in his life, he always returned to his dependence and expectation of a gracious God.

“And without faith, it’s impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is and that He is a rewarder of those who seek Him.” Hebrews 11:6

Leave a Reply

