Luke 6:46-49

These are my notes from today’s Communion meditation. They are not complete, just my outline.
The 11 minute meditation is here.

I used the word “haunting” and talked about eating flesh and drinking blood. This was not because it was Halloween, but I thought it was ironic.

 

46 “Why do you call Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ and do not do what I say?

47 “Everyone who comes to Me and hears My words and acts on them, I will show you whom he is like:

48 he is like a man building a house, who dug deep and laid a foundation on the rock; and when a flood occurred, the torrent burst against that house and could not shake it, because it had been well built.

49 “But the one who has heard and has not acted accordingly, is like a man who built a house on the ground without any foundation; and the torrent burst against it and immediately it collapsed, and the ruin of that house was great.” –Luke 6:46-49

 

Jesus asks this very direct question of the disciples, “”Why do you call Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ and do not do what I say?”

He next lays out three things that are elements of becoming and being disciples,

  1. Coming to Him
  2. Hearing His words
  3. Acting on (His words)

 

Jesus is not presenting another religion of works here, we know He says:

28 Therefore they said to Him, “What shall we do, so that we may work the works of God?” 29 Jesus answered and said to them, “This is the work of God, that you believe in Him whom He has sent.” -John 6:28,29

 

What He is calling for, in my opinion, is participation.

Meaning, not just coming to Him, not simply “calling” Him Lord, not just listening,… But actually participating with Him actively, as a true disciple.

 

He lays out clearly the results of whether or not we choose to participate. For the individual that “comes, listens, and acts,” there is this result of permanence in the midst of the torrent. For the one who does not act and refuses to participate, there is “collapse & ruin.”

This is such a great truth. Whether we make application in regards to the trials of life, or the ultimate trial of sin & death, the truth is the same. We need to not only be hearers, but responders,… Participators!

 

52 Then the Jews began to argue with one another, saying, “How can this man give us His flesh to eat?” 53 So Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink His blood, you have no life in yourselves. 54 “He who eats My flesh and drinks My blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day. 55 “For My flesh is true food, and My blood is true drink. 56 “He who eats My flesh and drinks My blood abides in Me, and I in him. 57 “As the living Father sent Me, and I live because of the Father, so he who eats Me, he also will live because of Me. 58 “This is the bread which came down out of heaven; not as the fathers ate and died; he who eats this bread will live forever.”  -John 6:52-58

 

What Jesus is saying here, is that as He has presented Himself as ” The Bread Of Heaven.” One cannot be saved by simply hearing that. While we can hear that Jesus blood cleanses us from all sin, hearing is not enough. We must accept this personally, we must participate personally, we must act on these things. That is one of the reasons why we take communion regularly. The word itself “communion” is also translated fellowship, and has in it’s meaning the idea of participation together.

 

As we take this communion together, it is an action saying “yes I believe!” I believe that Jesus is Lord, I believe that He is the Son of God, I believe that He is the Bread of Heaven, That His sacrifice is for me!

 

23 For I received from the Lord that which I also delivered to you, that the Lord Jesus in the night in which He was betrayed took bread; 24 and when He had given thanks, He broke it and said, “This is My body, which is for you; do this in remembrance of Me.” 25 In the same way He took the cup also after supper, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in My blood; do this, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of Me.” 26 For as often as you eat this bread and drink the cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death until He comes.  -1 Corinthians 11:23-26

 

The gospel requires a response, Christianity is not a spectator sport!!

 

Leave a Reply

