On Pride…

I’ve been having a bit of trouble trying to understand how we humans can be so stubborn. I know too many people who cannot seem to grasp a simple understanding of their own humanity. Like many folks, I have been mesmerized by Charlie Sheen’s antics. I don’t know if many folks remember, but Sheen claimed to be “a born again Christian” in 1996. Watching him now makes me wonder, is it the drugs, or is this simply a man who has so violated his own conscience to the degree that he has become tragically incapable of humility?

I know people like Charlie, who may have simply gone too far. I believe there is a time in everyone’s life when the Holy Spirit of God is moving, speaking, and drawing an individual to faith. Now, I’m not saying that this is necessarily a short time, I think it’s a lifetime,… but it seems as though, there is a time when individuals seem to have just rejected Christ for the very last time. In Romans 1, Paul writes about “God giving (individuals) over to their sin.” It’s like God, after a while, just says “okay, if you want to reject me, then reject me,… done.”

When is it too late?
That is the question. It’s the question that weighs heavy on my mind for the people I know who have not yet surrendered to the lover of their souls. Hebrews 9:27 says: “…it is appointed for men to die once and after this comes judgment.” -That is what I know, it’s what the bible says. There will be an end to each person’s life, and after that, they will be judged, based on what they did in this life. Most people think that what makes God angry is the kind of stuff Charlie does… drugs, sexual sin, violence, and things like that. But you know what, no one is going to go into hell for those sins, not even for murder. There is only one sin that will ensure an eternity separated from God, and it is simply rejecting His love, rejecting the salvation that Jesus freely offers.

As I was watching one of the Sheen interviews the other night, what I saw was a man who was rejecting a lifeline. I watched him violently reject Alcoholics Anonymous, he mocked and ridiculed this program that has been a salvation from addiction for millions. He boasted that he was “healed by the power of his own mind.” In other words, “I am my own savior.”

What Sheen and others seem to really have trouble with in regard to sobriety or at least the A.A. program, is the first few steps,…
1. We admitted we were powerless over alcohol – that our lives had become unmanageable.
2. Came to believe that a Power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity.
3. Made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of God as we understood Him.

You see, those steps, very similar to the ones necessary for spiritual salvation require humility.
We must first come to understand our own tragic failure-sin. We need to admit and confess that sin to God, really just agree with what He has already said. Then the next step is simple, just call out to Jesus, and ask Him to forgive us our sins, to trust Him as opposed to us. ….If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 1 John 1:9.

Friend, if you are reading this and you have not yet given your life to Christ, I beg you to do it.
Do it today.

But He gives a greater grace. Therefore it says, “GOD IS OPPOSED TO THE PROUD, BUT GIVES GRACE TO THE HUMBLE.”Submit therefore to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you.Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded.Be miserable and mourn and weep; let your laughter be turned into mourning and your joy to gloom.Humble yourselves in the presence of the Lord, and He will exalt you. –James 4:6-10

3/8/11 Addendum: I watched “World’s Most Dangerous Drug” last night on Netflix®. If you want to understand what meth is about, I highly recommend watching it.

4 thoughts on “On Pride…

  1. Interesting post, Jim. I too, remember when Chuck claimed to give his life to Christ – which now we can somewhat speculate that his claim may have been that of a man jumping from adiction to adiction; jumping from one experience to the next in searching desparation (yet never really realizing it). His rants in his interview strike me of one who is still under the influence – yet in complete denial (I realize that’s an obvious). It’s a very sad commentary on selling Jesus for profit (come to Jesus and He will make you happy and fulfill youre wishes); as opposed to coming to Jesus in brokenness because you have recongnized your utter depravity and sinfulness that without Him you are destined to eternal separation. I’m not saying this exactly what happened in the case of “Charles the keeper of the goddesses”; but it reminds me that we want people to come to Christ because they need forgiveness of their sin. Not for happiness and contentment (though those are certainly a by-product).

    1. Oh, yes. And I believe you. Though I find it curious that you called Scott Baio a “heartthrob”. I’m just sayin’

      “Charles in charge of our days and our nights…”

Leave a Reply

