Pleasures Forever or Multiplied Sorrows,… you choose.

Preserve me, O God, for I take refuge in You.
I said to the LORD, “You are my Lord; I have no good besides You.”
As for the saints who are in the earth, They are the majestic ones in whom is all my delight.
The sorrows of those who have bartered for another god will be multiplied; I shall not pour out their drink offerings of blood, Nor will I take their names upon my lips.
The LORD is the portion of my inheritance and my cup; You support my lot.
The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places; Indeed, my heritage is beautiful to me.
I will bless the LORD who has counseled me; Indeed, my mind instructs me in the night.
I have set the LORD continually before me; Because He is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.
Therefore my heart is glad and my glory rejoices; My flesh also will dwell securely.
For You will not abandon my soul to Sheol; Nor will You allow Your Holy One to undergo decay.
You will make known to me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; In Your right hand there are pleasures forever. –Psalm 16

David fully trusted in God. He understood that everything good in his life flowed out of that relationship.
God was his goodness, portion, inheritance, cup, support, heritage, counselor, security, gladness, glory, and ultimate source of pleasure. He contrasts all that he knows in God, with those who have settled to follow something less. They will know “multiplied sorrows”- it is a great tragedy.
God wants to be known by all, His benefits are for the entire world.

What was from the beginning, what we have heard, what we have seen with our eyes, what we have looked at and touched with our hands, concerning the Word of Life— and the life was manifested, and we have seen and testify and proclaim to you the eternal life, which was with the Father and was manifested to us— what we have seen and heard we proclaim to you also, so that you too may have fellowship with us; and indeed our fellowship is with the Father, and with His Son Jesus Christ.These things we write, so that our joy may be made complete. 1 John 1:1-4

 

One thought on “Pleasures Forever or Multiplied Sorrows,… you choose.

  1. Multiplied sorrows because those turn in the Pleasures Forever… Though you have made me see troubles, many and bitter, you will restore my life again, from the depths of the earth you will again bring me up, you will increase my honor and comfort me once again. Psalm 71:20,21 As Joni Erickson Tada says.. Heaven, Heaven is my real home!!!

Leave a Reply

