A Just Cause?

Hear a just cause, O LORD, give heed to my cry; Give ear to my prayer, which is not from deceitful lips.
Let my judgment come forth from Your presence; Let Your eyes look with equity.
You have tried my heart; You have visited me by night; You have tested me and You find nothing; I have purposed that my mouth will not transgress.
As for the deeds of men, by the word of Your lips I have kept from the paths of the violent.
My steps have held fast to Your paths. My feet have not slipped. –Psalm 17:1-5

If ever there was a just cause, certainly David’s was. The shepherd boy who was hunted by a rejected king who was possessed by murderous jealousy. Do you and I have a just cause before God? Not necessarily, but what we can have is what David expresses… pure honesty. His cry is not from deceitful lips.
We need to be honest before God above all.
As David cries out to the Lord, notice that he is expecting God’s judgement in the matter, not his own, and not man’s judgement. We need to bring what we think is our “just cause” to the Lord, and let Him make the call.
Why?
Because He alone can judge with equity!
We also need to be open to God showing us our defect!

David goes on to express his personal determination for righteousness,… we need to have that determined in our heart, honestly, and regardless of how we fail, we need to keep our feet on His paths and trust in His grace to deliver us.
David would fail, he was a man, but by faith he followed God and was, because of that hope, declared right.

“…without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is and that He is a rewarder of those who seek Him.” Hebrews 11:6

Leave a Reply

