God Responds.

1 “I love You, O LORD, my strength.” 2 The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. 3 I call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised, And I am saved from my enemies.
4 The cords of death encompassed me, And the torrents of ungodliness terrified me. 5 The cords of Sheol surrounded me; The snares of death confronted me. 6 In my distress I called upon the LORD, And cried to my God for help; He heard my voice out of His temple, And my cry for help before Him came into His ears.
7 Then the earth shook and quaked; And the foundations of the mountains were trembling And were shaken, because He was angry. 8 Smoke went up out of His nostrils, And fire from His mouth devoured; Coals were kindled by it. 9 He bowed the heavens also, and came down With thick darkness under His feet. 10 He rode upon a cherub and flew; And He sped upon the wings of the wind. 11 He made darkness His hiding place, His canopy around Him, Darkness of waters, thick clouds of the skies. 12 From the brightness before Him passed His thick clouds, Hailstones and coals of fire. 13 The LORD also thundered in the heavens, And the Most High uttered His voice, Hailstones and coals of fire. 14 He sent out His arrows, and scattered them, And lightning flashes in abundance, and routed them. 15 Then the channels of water appeared, And the foundations of the world were laid bare At Your rebuke, O LORD, At the blast of the breath of Your nostrils.
16 He sent from on high, He took me; He drew me out of many waters. 17 He delivered me from my strong enemy, And from those who hated me, for they were too mighty for me. 18 They confronted me in the day of my calamity, But the LORD was my stay. 19 He brought me forth also into a broad place; He rescued me, because He delighted in me. –Psalm 18:1-19

This psalm contains wonderful and graphic descriptions of the condition of men and the salvation that is found in the Lord.
Who is your strength?
Do you have a fortress or a deliverer?
Do you need one?

Before we can really understand or receive the saving work of Christ, we must first by necessity understand our condition. Verse 4-6 describe the condition of man’s soul prior to salvation. Death, ungodliness, & distress were the results of our own sinful ways as we resisted His love.
Then we called, we broke, we gave up,… we cried out to Him and received His deliverance!
What a joyful day that was!
We see the fierceness of the Lord in the beautiful symbolic language of verses 7-15, the Lord in all of His power and might, came to rescue us. He is fierce and He is terrible! Awesome is His power to deliver.
Friend, what would God hold back from delivering you? What would He not do? He gave His Son, His only Son, for you and I. He came, and He died to pay the penalty of our sin.
Why?
Because, as it says, He delights in you.
Whoever will call upon the Lord will be saved.

One thought on “God Responds.

Leave a Reply

