Six Reasons Why My Father Is The Best…

1. My Father is a Provider. I remember during the malaise of the Jimmy Carter era, that my dad began to take up riding a ten-speed bicycle to work. At the time I figured like me, he just liked riding a bike. I get it now. With skyrocketing gas prices and inflation, he was just doing what he could to make ends meet. That’s what Dads do, they “find a way” to provide for their families. God my Father is a provider.
Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they? –Matt. 6:26 (NASB)

2. My Father is a Teacher. Someone once said, “it takes a village.” 🙂 I think of all of the ways that my Heavenly Father has provided lessons to teach and train me. He has sent many, many people into my life to teach and train me. I remember all of the school teachers, mentors, bosses, and father figures who each have had a part in shaping me into the person that I am. In His tough love, God also allows trials to teach me. He never seems to rescue me without letting me learn something. He has left us His Word, and His Spirit, to teach us. Make me know Your ways, O Lord; Teach me Your paths. Lead me in Your truth and teach me, For You are the God of my salvation; For You I wait all the day. Psalms 25:4-5 (NASB)

3. My Father makes me secure. There are so many things that a good father does, but making children feel secure, both emotionally and physically, is a primary role in emotional development. In her book “Boys Should Be Boys: 7 Secrets to Raising Healthy Sons""“, Dr. Meg Meeker says: “…most importantly, he needs to know that you will be there when he needs you. Once he knows this, the center of his world will feel tight and secure. Give him that security and he will feel free to work hard at school, pay attention during his piano lessons, and enjoy all the good things that can be a part of boyhood.” This principle, of course, applies to boys and girls.
The Lord appeared to him from afar, saying, “I have loved you with an everlasting love; Therefore I have drawn you with lovingkindness. –Jer 31:3 (NASB)
However, those the Father has given me will come to me, and I will never reject them. –John 6:37 (NLT)

4. My Father is a Hero. Who can forget Baloo defending Mowgli in Disney’s 1967 “The Jungle Book” – even though it (almost) cost him his life. To the distraught Mowgli Bagheera says: “Now, now. I know how you feel. But you must remember, Mowgli, “Greater love hath no one than he who lays down his life for his friend.”
the scripture says: But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. –Romans 5:8 The truth is, we all love heros, and God is the ultimate hero. My Heavenly Father rescued me from the Devil. Good Dads will give their lives to rescue and protect their children. Psalm 18:1-19 contains a great description of our hero-God, I wrote about it here.

5. My Father is my Counselor. How many times did Ward Cleaver gently guide Wally and Beaver, always steady, calm, and full of wisdom. Though fictional, Ward was an ideal father in this way. A good dad is one that is unflappable, not reactionary, and guided by godly wisdom. Of course all of this is useless if dad is unavailable, so dads need to be available and approachable to their children. David said of God: “With Your counsel You will guide me, And afterward receive me to glory.” –Psalm 73:24 God is a counselor, He gives wisdom to His children. God has provided the Holy Spirit to dwell in every believer as a guide & counselor. (John 16:13) Jesus is called “Wonderful Counselor” Yes God is our counselor and he is always available to hear us, and to offer assistance. This is the confidence which we have before Him, that, if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. – 1 John 5:14

6. My Father is a Friend. We say that “a dog is a man’s best friend.” In a sense, it’s a truth. Why? Because a dog always pursues attention from his master. Whether it’s playing fetch, or wanting to be petted, dogs pursue. The scripture says that “a friend loves at all times” –Prov. 17:17 The thing that I love about God, is that He pursues me. He has not, and will not leave me alone. Yes, He chastens and corrects me, (Prov. 3:12) but only because He loves me. He is faithful. We will have many friends in this life, but non will compare to our Father.

Leave a Reply

