Don’t Be Afraid -Psalm 23 Part 4 of 6

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. –Psalm 23:4

The “valley of the shadow of death”.. have you been there? I have. It wasn’t pretty. I was afraid.
I was not a believer, I had no faith in God to be able to deliver me. It was dark. Death is frightening to those who do not know Jesus.
David uses terminology that only a shepherd would completely understand. The rod and the staff were tools used by shepherds to tend to, and protect, sheep. They are extensions of the shepherds hand. He understood that God was with him, and that, like a shepherd of his very soul. He believed in God the Deliverer, –God the Savior.
We will all go through the valley of the shadow of death at some point.
The believer, like David, can go.. without fear, and with comfort.

If you find yourself in the valley today, and you are afraid, call out to the Lord Jesus.
He is the Good Shepherd.

Leave a Reply

