Integrity – Psalm 26

A wise man once told me, “no one can steal your integrity, you have to give it away.” That is something that I have remembered ever since I heard it. I was thinking about personal integrity in regard to the current news stories about Herman Cain and the *Penn State sex scandal. I have no way of knowing what is true and what is not in regard to these allegations. People can make false accusations, but even false accusations cannot take away a persons integrity, only their reputation.

David speaks in Psalm 26 about his integrity before God. Clearly, his integrity was a work of God in his life, just as it is in us. If you read this Psalm, read it with yourself in mind, can you say the things that David says? Are you walking before Jesus in sincerity? If not, repent, and ask Him to give you a new heart, then apply yourself to walking in His righteousness.

1. Vindicate me, O LORD, for I have walked in my integrity, And I have trusted in the LORD without wavering. 2. Examine me, O LORD, and try me; Test my mind and my heart. 3. For Your lovingkindness is before my eyes, And I have walked in Your truth. 4. I do not sit with deceitful men, Nor will I go with pretenders. 5. I hate the assembly of evildoers, And I will not sit with the wicked. 6. I shall wash my hands in innocence, And I will go about Your altar, O LORD, 7. That I may proclaim with the voice of thanksgiving And declare all Your wonders. 8. O LORD, I love the habitation of Your house And the place where Your glory dwells. 9. Do not take my soul away along with sinners, Nor my life with men of bloodshed, 10. In whose hands is a wicked scheme, And whose right hand is full of bribes. 11. But as for me, I shall walk in my integrity; Redeem me, and be gracious to me. 12. My foot stands on a level place; In the congregations I shall bless the LORD. – Psalm 26

* I have read the Grand Jury report on the Jerry Sandusky / Penn State allegations, and it is as clear as it is grotesque. There are several millstones reserved for these guys.

Leave a Reply

