Psalm 30 -“Mourning Turned To Dancing”

A Psalm; a Song at the Dedication of the House. A Psalm of David.

I will extol You, O LORD, for You have lifted me up,
And have not let my enemies rejoice over me.
O LORD my God, I cried to You for help, and You healed me.
O LORD, You have brought up my soul from Sheol;
You have kept me alive, that I would not go down to the pit.

Sing praise to the LORD, you His godly ones, And give thanks to His holy name.
For His anger is but for a moment, His favor is for a lifetime;
Weeping may last for the night, But a shout of joy comes in the morning.
Now as for me, I said in my prosperity, “I will never be moved.”

O LORD, by Your favor You have made my mountain to stand strong;
You hid Your face, I was dismayed.
To You, O LORD, I called, And to the Lord I made supplication:
“What profit is there in my blood, if I go down to the pit?
Will the dust praise You? Will it declare Your faithfulness?

“Hear, O LORD, and be gracious to me; O LORD, be my helper.”
You have turned for me my mourning into dancing;
You have loosed my sackcloth and girded me with gladness,
That my soul may sing praise to You and not be silent.
O LORD my God, I will give thanks to You forever.
Psalm 30 

David seems to have been recently recovered from either a sickness or a great dark trial.
He contrasts the following:

Anger & Favor
Weeping & Shouts Of Joy
Mourning & Dancing
Sackcloth & Gladness

He is giving thanks at the dedication of his new palace. It’s a time of renewal, a time to look forward –to good things that God is going to do. David recognized that there were good times and bad times in his life. Seasons of trial and frustration, even loss… but there is always a new day, a dawn. And each new day, each new season, is filled with potential for goodness and recovery. This is the perspective of a man of faith.
Take time to reflect today, regardless of what season you find yourself in, on what the Lord has done, and like David, give Him praise. It is good, and it is right. Be hopeful, child of God -with Him all things are possible.

 

Leave a Reply

