None Other To Save -Psalm 31:1-5

In You, O Lord, I have taken refuge; Let me never be ashamed;
In Your righteousness deliver me.

Incline Your ear to me, rescue me quickly; Be to me a rock of strength,
A stronghold to save me.

For You are my rock and my fortress; For Your name’s sake You will lead me and guide me.

You will pull me out of the net which they have secretly laid for me, For You are my strength.

Into Your hand I commit my spirit; You have ransomed me, O Lord, God of truth.
Psalm 31:1-5 (NASB)

In David’s prayer, I want to call attention to one thing that might me easy to overlook, and that is his present condition.
• He seeks deliverance, implying present distress.
• He seeks rescue, implying impending danger.
• He seeks leading and guiding, implying a loss of the way forward.
• He seeks immediate rescue from a “net,” implying being “caught.”

In the end, David simply falls at the feet of the Lord and says, okay,.. I commit myself to You. Really, at the end of the day, we can do no more than this. We find ourselves in all kinds of predicaments, whether from inward sins and failures, or from external trials and difficulties. We battle, and we press on, in an effort to succeed and have some form of victory in this present condition. But after all is said and done, we must each find our place at the feet of the Savior and ask for His kind favor and deliverance.
There will be none other to save.

“Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.” –Matthew 11:28

Leave a Reply

