The Wicked, Wicked, Condition.

Have you ever had one of those days, where you thought too much, said too much, and did too much?
I’m not talking about good things, I’m talking about bad things. It’s kinda like going on a binge of overeating, when you are left bloated, lazy, and almost completely immobilized.
This morning, as I was praying, the Lord gently showed me several things that I thought, said, and did, in the last few days. Things that are wrong.

Like most of us, I don’t want to do the wrong things that I do, but then, they often feel so right. Saying the wrong thing for instance, when say hurtful or demeaning things about another, can give us that fleeting moment of self-righteousness. For a moment we feel good. But then that moment passes, and we are left empty.
Sinful actions are the same, they leave you feeling empty, alone.

You know, it’s easy to put on a front of righteousness. It’s easy to keep your tongue tamed in public, and to present your “better” self to others. We do it every day. Sometimes, leaders do it the very best, keeping up appearances of self control, as though showing weakness will cause us to lose our grip on power or influence.  Actually, the opposite is true, it is in weakness, that we find real strength, and it is in humility, that we find real influence.

If we are honest, we all have this dark side, we share a common sin nature. The late Stanley Voke, talked about it as the side of the moon that is dark, the side you never show. But you know, the Lord sees it. He knows everything altogether. He knows every thought, word, and deed. And He has judged it. He has pronounced you and I wrong, –as sinners.

Have you come to that place where you are in agreement with Him? Do you truly understand your own frame?
You know, God’s word has declared His judgement of us all. Romans chapter 3 declares it pretty clearly, that we have “all sinned,” and “there is none righteous.” I believe that. My own life has proven it out over and over. And, I have learned that it is important to agree with Him, not just in a philosophical sense, but in my daily attitude.

Today, once again, afresh, I acknowledged my sinfulness to the Lord. I accept the defeat of my own sinful nature, and I say it. I am a wicked man. This is the place of grace,-the foot of the cross. When we avoid it, and put on a pretense, when we play act, as though we have it all together, we cannot receive God’s grace. We can  live on past victories, and our relationship with Christ and others is make-believe.

Have you, dear reader, been honest with the Lord today? Not in a general philosophical sense, but have you stripped down, and gotten naked with Him? Today? I beg you to do that. Revisit the cross, confess your sin to the Lord, and let Him forgive you afresh. He desires transparency with you, and He desires to forgive your wicked, wicked, condition. Be broken with God and man today.

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If we say that we have not sinned, we make Him a liar and His word is not in us. –1 John 1:9,10

One thought on “The Wicked, Wicked, Condition.

  1. Judging others, is something that I have been struggling with for a long time now. I find that it is my first instinctive reaction to things. It is so hard, not to do! I keep asking forgiveness, and turn around and judge some one again the very next second. I find that I’m asking forgiveness for this , everyday, all day. The good thing is that I’m more aware of it, and catch it faster than I used to. We all have our struggles, but when I think about what Jesus went thru, mine seem very small.

Leave a Reply

