I. Am. Not. Anonymous.

I know that many of my friends and colleagues will be unhappy that I am reblogging this. However, I think it is one of the most instructional things I have read in a long time. There are many, many, statements made that are tweetable, quotable, etc. If you have ever questioned the status quo of your pastor, church, elders group, etc. and been shut down, shut out, or kicked out, you will understand. Take your time and digest this personal testimony. -Jim

ronwheelerjr

Dear Mark Driscoll:

You were once one of my closest friends.

You were once my trusted mentor and benefactor.

You were once someone who preached the Gospel with a fierce and captivating passion and purity.

You were the one who inspired me to be a preacher… a church planter.

In 1996 I was working as a missionary in West Africa when my mom sent me a recording of you speaking at the Northwest Christian Education conference.  I was intrigued, captivated, and a bit disturbed by what I heard. You deconstructed my tidy neat little worldview and described the church as a mission outpost that exists between the gospel message and various cultures.  That message convinced me that I could be a missionary at home, and so I returned.

I started attending Mars Hill with my family, driving an hour each way from Mount Vernon down to Seattle.  Mars Hill was…

View original post 3,495 more words

3 thoughts on “I. Am. Not. Anonymous.

  1. Sad and true. I also bought into the lie, and am grateful to not be at Mars Hill any longer. Meanwhile, am praying for my friends that are still there. And for Mark Driscoll.

    Please tell me you are not planning any book tours?

    Barb

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

